Private rooms are accessible only to the creator and users who are invited in. The list of your private rooms appears on the left hand sidebar as well, along with public rooms. Private rooms are denoted by the lock icon. Adding a private room works the same way as a public room — just select Private for the room type.
Note that once you leave a private room, you will have to be invited back in to access the room again.